uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

The Men's Omnium concluded its first three of six events, with defending champion Fernando Gaviria tying on points with Elia Viviani after a dominant performance in the elimination race of the former

Photo: Simon Wilkinson/








05.03.2016 @ 09:38 Posted by Aleksandra Górska

Host nation Great Britain surged into the medal lead on Day 3 of the 2016 UCI Track Cycling World Championships, at the Lee Valley VeloPark in London. Great Britain won three medals, to take their total to six, including a second gold medal. Other world titles were awarded to the United States, Russia and Italy.


The first title of the day went to Russia's Anastaslia Voinova, in the women's 500m Time Trial. Voinova became the first two-time winner at these championships, adding the 500m title to her Team Sprint gold. Lee Wai Sze of Hong Kong China took the silver medal, and Elis Ligtlee of the Netherlands the bronze.


The Women's Team Pursuit title came down to a battle between the United States and Canada. Neither has won the world title before, and for the first 1000m of the 4000m race the battle remained close. However, the USA began to steadily pull away in the second half of the race, to win by almost three seconds. For seven-time world champion Sarah Hammer of the USA it was an emotional first team title. Great Britain, the Olympic champion on this track, took the bronze medal ahead of New Zealand.


The Men's Individual Pursuit title went to 19 year old Filippo Ganna of Italy, with a time of 4:16.141, finishing over two seconds ahead of Domenic Weinstein of Germany. The battle for the bronze was between two British riders, with Andrew Tennant beating compatriot Owain Doull.


The final title of the evening went to Great Britain's Jonathan Dibben in the Men's Points Race, after a battle to the final sprint. Dibben won the final sprint to score maximum points, putting him in a tie at 48 points with Austria's Andreas Graf. Dibben took the title by virtue of winning the final sprint. Kenny De Ketele of Belgium took the bronze medal.


The Men's Omnium concluded its first three of six events, with two riders tied on points. Defending champion Fernando Gaviria of Colombia and Italy's Elia Viviani go into the second day with 102 points each, followed by Thomas Boudat (France) and Roger Kluge (Germany) at 96 points each.


The action continues on Day 4, with the conclusion of the Men's Omnium and the Men's Sprint, plus the title in the Women's Points Race. The Women's Omnium and Sprint competitions will also begin.


You can find all the results here: 2016 UCI Track World Championships Day 3



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Greggory BRANDT
36 years | today
Philippe JACOB
19 years | today
30 years | today
35 years | today
Saif Mayoof AL KAABI
27 years | today