uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

18 teams vie for the 18 available ProTeam licenses and will be awarded one if they fulfil the sporting, administrative, ethical and financial criteria


04.10.2013 @ 17:35 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

UCI has released a list of teams that have applied for a ProTeam license by the October 1 deadline. 12 teams have an existing license and will continue as a first division team if they fulfil the sporting criteria and no irregularities are found while 6 teams will have to go through the full procedure to get a renewal of their current license or move form pro continental to ProTeam status.


Three days after the October 1 deadline for applying for a ProTeam license for the 2014 season, the international cycling union UCI has released the list of teams that have sent in the required information to be considered for a berth in the upper echelon of the sport. 12 teams have an existing license while 6 teams are asking for a renewal or a promotion from professional continental to ProTeam status.


On October 1, the teams were asked to submit the sponsorship contracts duly signed with the main partners, the bank guarantee, and, for new teams only, a description of their structure together with a copy of the deed of incorporation of the paying agent. This material will now be examined by the UCI to see whether the teams fulfil the administrative and financial requirements.


The following 12 teams have an existing ProTeam license and have asked to continue as a first division squad:


  • Belkin-Pro Cycling Team
  • BMC Racing Team
  • FDJ.FR
  • Garmin Sharp
  • Lotto Belisol
  • Omega Pharma - Quick Step Cycling team
  • Team Argos-Shimano
  • Team Katusha
  • Team Saxo Bank


On October 20, the sporting value of each team will be evaluated on the basis of the 10 best riders that have signed a contract with the team on that date. If those 12 teams make it into the top 18 and no irregularities are found in their applications, they will automatically be granted ProTeam status. Files with non-conformities will be passed on to the Licence Commission which will make a final decision on the license.


The following five teams have asked for a renewal of their license:


  • Team Sky


Team Europcar which is currently a pro continental squad has applied to be promoted to ProTeam status. Those files of those 6 teams will all be sent to the license commission who will make a decision based on their financial, administrative and ethical standards if they fulfil the sporting criteria.


A maximum number of 18 ProTeams are allowed and with 18 applicants, those 18 teams can expect to get a license if they fulfil the criteria. This year, 19 teams have been granted ProTeam status due to the CAS ruling on Katusha. With the disbandment of Euskaltel and Vacansoleil, only 17 are left for the 2014 season, making room for Europcar to be granted the coveted license.


At the same time, UCI has released a list of teams that have applied for a professional continental license. Those teams are:


  • COFIDIS, solutions crédits
  • Drapac Professional Cycling
  • Team NetApp-Endura
  • Team Novo Nordisk


Yellow Fluo is the successor of the Vini Fantini team which has been created by a merger of that squad and Team Nippo. Apart from Drapac Professional Cycling, all those teams have been racing at professional continental level in the 2013 season. Drapac will try to get promoted from its current continental status.


Notable absentees from the list are Crelan-Euphony, Sojasun and Champion System which will all disband at the end of the season. The absence of the Bretagne team is more surprising with the team having signed several new riders for the coming season.


If no irregularities are found in their files, the teams included on the list will all get a professional continental license on November 4.



Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:472017 team analysis: Movistar Team 03.01.2017 @ 17:30Wilier-Selle Italia confirm signing of Italian talent 03.01.2017 @ 17:21Novo Nordisk under pressure to secure new sponsorship 03.01.2017 @ 17:15Report: Dumoulin to focus on the Giro 03.01.2017 @ 17:06U23 World Champion forced to turn down Quick-Step 03.01.2017 @ 17:03Ag2r veteran announces retirement 03.01.2017 @ 16:59Thurau finds new team in Kuwait 03.01.2017 @ 16:55

Currently no news in this list

Nathalie CADOL
46 years | today
38 years | today
Melanie AMANN
21 years | today
Chih Hao TU
21 years | today
30 years | today

© 2013