uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

With a dominant performance, Van Aert soloed to his third consecutive win in the Koppenbergcross and extended his lead in the DVV Trofee standings

Photo: UCI/Graham Watson








01.11.2016 @ 17:15 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Wout van Aert won the Koppenbergcross for the third time in a row in impressive fashion. On the new course, the world champion finished almost half a minute ahead of Kevin Pauwels and Lars van der Haar. Mathieu van der Poel had a bad day and finished 15th at almost 4 minutes.


Before the start there were many critical voices from the riders. They found the redesigned course too hard, with too much climbing. But when the flag was dropped, they stormed onto the cobble as usual


For the first time, Toon Aerts could show his European champion’s jersey and did so with pride. He set the pace in the first lap until Van Aert turned on the gas.


Initially, the world champion had six companions, but after a second accelerated halfway through the race, there was only one left as Van Aert and Aerts were in front. One lap later Van Aert again applied the pressure. That attack was too much for Aerts who cracked and eventually finished fourth.


Van Aert did not look back and rode unchallenged to victory. Thus, he strengthens his leadership in the DVV Trofee classficicastion.


In the battle for second place Kevin Pauwels rode away in the penultimate lap. He finished with an advantage of a handful of seconds over Lars van der Haar.


Mathieu van der Poel had an off day and was far back. He eventually lost almost four minutes.


The next race in the series is the Flandriencross on November 27.



1. Wout van Aert 1.03.08

2. Kevin Pauwels +0.29

3. Lars van der Haar +0.34

4. Toon Aerts +0.46

5. Klaas Vantornout +0.56

6. Michael Vanthourenhout +1.04

7. Corne Van Kessel +1.14

8. Jens Adams +1.18

9. Laurens Sweeck +1.34

10. Michael Boros +1.44


Overall standings:

1. Wout van Aert 2.04.39

2. Kevin Pauwels +1.52

3. Michael Vanthourenhout +2.00

4. Lars van der Haar +2.98

5. Jens Adams +2.19

6. Toon Aerts +2.21

7. Klaas Vantornout ++2.54

8. Corne Van Kessel +3.38

9. Tom Meeusen +4.16

10. Laurens Sweeck +4.34



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

21 years | today
23 years | today
Robert DEIKE
26 years | today
37 years | today
Tayler WILES
35 years | today