uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"I don't think anyone stood out. I would like to thank my colleagues who appreciated my regularity by casting their vote," Van Avermaet says

Photo: Sirotti






18.10.2013 @ 17:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Greg Van Avermaet has been awarded the prestigious Flandrien of the year award at a ceremony in Belgium by winning a vote ahead of Tom Boonen. Chris Froome has been awarded the international title for his many victories in stage races throughout the year.


Flanders is one of the cycling-mad regions of Europe and it is no wonder that the Frandrien of the year award is one of the most prestigious end-of-season prizes. Based on a very consistent performance, Greg Van Avermaet has been awarded the honour for his results in 2013.


As it has often been the case, Van Avermaet was the strongest BMC rider in most of the major classics when teammates Philppe Gilbert and Thor Hushovd failed to live up to expectations. He finished 3rd in Gent-Wevelgem, 7th in the Tour of Flanders, 4th in Paris-Roubaix and 6th in Brabantse Pijl, thus being one of the most consistent riders in the spring.


Despite his many good results, he failed to win a race in the spring season. However, he made up for that in the autumn when he kicked off the second part of his season by winning two stages and the overall in the Tour de Wallonie.


From there, he was almost unstoppable. He crossed the Atlantic to win a stage and finish runner-up on three consecutive stages in the Tour of Utah. He finished in the top 5 on four stages of the USA Pro Challenge before heading back to Europe for the GP Ouest France Plouay where his late attack was neutralized with less than 1km to go.


He was back in North America for the GP Quebec and Montreal where he was 3rd and 4th respectively before being part of the Belgian team for the world championships. At the end of the season, he was 19th in Il Lombardia and 3rd in Binche-Chimay-Binche before ending the year with an aggressive showing in Paris-Tours.


He won the award ahead of Tom Boonen who was 2nd despite an injury-plagued season while Sven Nys, Jan Bakelants, Philippe Gilbert and Gianni Meersman had also received nominations.


"I don't think anyone stood out," he said according to Sporza. "I would like to thank my colleagues who appreciated my regularity by casting their vote."


Despite his mange good results, Van Avermaet's only classics victory is the 2011 Paris-Tours. He hopes to finally add a big monument to his palmares in 2014.


"It is still difficult for me to win a great Classic but that is my goal," he said. "I keep chasing the big win by working hard."


The international prize went to Chris Froome who impressed the entire cycling world by winning the Tour of Oman, Criterium Internattional, Tour de Romandie and Criterium du Dauphiné before going on the win the Tour de France in July.


"It is an honor to win this prize," Froome said. "A Flandrien is to me someone, no matter how tough the conditions are, never gives up. Someone who has the character of a fighter."


The U23 prize was awarded to Jasper Stuyven while Jessie Daems was given the women's honour.



Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18One for the road 04.09.2018 @ 15:25Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

Abderrahmane Mehdi HAMZA
28 years | today
Jon Sæverås BREIVOLD
25 years | today
27 years | today
34 years | today
28 years | today