uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Van der Poel dropped Van Aert on a sand climb and soloed to victory after a great duel at the Zilvermeercross in Mol; Meeusen completed the podium








04.12.2016 @ 16:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Mathieu van der Poel won the third edition of the Zilvermeercross in Mol written. Halfway through the race, it was clear that the Dutch champion and world champion Wout van Aert would decide the race. A mistake and a subsequent crash from the world champion made sure that Van der Poel could take his ninth win of the season with apparent ease, thus equaling Van Aert’s tally.


Although the Zilvermeercross is not part of any of the series, all the stars were at the start: World champion Wout van Aert, Dutch champion Mathieu van der Poel, European champion Toon Aerts, Tom Meeusen, Kevin Pauwels… The world champion had the best start in the sand and Mathieu van der Poel had to be content with a place a little further back in the peloton. Tom Meeusen also started well as he was one of the few to bunny hop the concrete barrier. Van Aert and co. chose the safer option of running.


It was a surprise scenario at the start of the second lap. There was no Wout van Aert or Mathieu van der Poel in the lead. Instead, Daan Soete had taken charge. Kevin Pauwels and Michael Vanthourenhout were also alert but it is not a good season for Pauwels. He made a mistake in the sand and held both Meeusen and Vanthourenhout back.


Meanwhile, Van Aert and Van der Poel Soete passed Soete and only Jim Aernouts could follow. However, it was not long before the two stars had distanced themselves from the rest and again showed their dominance. It would be a waiting game for the first error of one of the two or a final attack. The Dutchman faltered occasionally on a sand hill but Van Aert could not take advantage. Van der Poel stayed with Van Aert.


One lap later, it was Van Aert’s to get stuck on the same sandy climb.  Van der Poel rode away and got an immediate gap. It would be the decisive mistake. For a long time, Van der Poel had a lead of eight seconds but with two laps to go, it had increased to 15 seconds. Van Aert crashed on the descent of the sand climb. Fortunately, the sandy surface meant that it was a minor blow.


Mathieu van der Poel took as his ninth victory and crowned himself in the sand in Mol. World Wout van Aert had to settle for second while Tom Meeusen finished third.



1. Mathieu van der Poel

2. Wout Van Aert

3. Tom Meeusen

4. Laurens Sweeck

5. Philipp Walsleben

6. Corne Van Kessel

7. David van der Poel

8. Diether Sweeck

9. Kevin Pauwels

10. Wietse Bosmans



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Jin Cheng HOH
29 years | today
31 years | today
Bjørnar Vevatne ØVERLAND
27 years | today
Laurens ROELS
26 years | today
36 years | today